The Fulbright US Student Program is the U.S. government's flagship program of highly competitive, merit-based grants for international educational exchange for students, scholars, teachers, professionals, scientists and artists, founded by United States Senator J. William Fulbright in 1946. Fulbright grants are awarded to U.S. citizens for a variety of educational activities, primarily university teaching, advanced research, graduate study and teaching in elementary and secondary schools.

This award is for graduating seniors, alumni, and current graduate and professional students looking to spend a year abroad participating in the aforementioned activities. Many countries do not require fluency in the language of the country. Fulbright grants cover plane travel, a monthly living stipend, and possibly research funds, tuition, and/or dependent support.

The Institute of International Education (IIE) administers the Fulbright program for students nationally. Kelly J. Medley, UF’s Prestigious Awards Advisor, advises UF students and alumni applying for a Fulbright grant and oversees the campus interview and feedback process.